Nuts & Bolts Constitutional Provisions

The British North America Act (renamed Constitution Act) 1867 states:

(9) The Executive Government and Authority of and over Canada is hereby declared to continue and be vested in the Queen.

(15) The Commander-in-Chief of the Land and Naval Militia, and of all Naval and Military Forces, of and in Canada, is hereby declared to continue to be vested in the Queen.

(17) There shall be One Parliament for Canada, consisting of the Queen, an Upper House styled the Senate, and the House of Commons.

(Fifth Schedule) OATH OF ALLEGIANCE: I, A.B. do swear, That I will be faithful and bear true Allegiance to Her Majesty Queen Victoria. Note — The Name of the King or Queen of the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Ireland for the Time being is to be substituted from Time to Time, with Proper Terms of Reference thereto.

The Constitution Act of 1982 states:

(41) An amendment to the Constitution of Canada in relation to the following matters may be made by proclamation issued by the Governor General under the Great Seal of Canada only when authorized by resolutions of the Senate and House of Commons and of the legislative assembly of each province:

(a) the office of the Queen, the Governor General and the Lieutenant Governor of a province;

(b) the right of a province to a number of members in the House of Commons not less than the number of Senators by which the province is entitled to be represented at the time this Part comes into force;

(c) subject to section 43, the use of the English or the French language;

(d) the composition of the Supreme Court of Canada; and

(e) an amendment to this Part.

Other important documents: